Inauguration of the Pulitzer Prizes in 1917

ab 24,90 

Heinz-Dietrich Fischer

Winners and Works in Journalism and Letters

ISBN 978-3-643-91461-3
Band-Nr. 27
Jahr 2021
Seiten 242
Bindung broschiert
Reihe Pulitzer Prize Panorama


This volume concentrates on the first ever awarded Pulitzer
Prizes during the World War year 1917. Awards only were
given in four catagories – Reporting, Editorial Writing,
Biography/Autobiography and American History. Biographical
sketches about the four winners are followed by explanations
of the circumstances under which the prizes were selected.
The award-winning pieces are reprinted in the original
typography of the time when they were evaluated by the
juries. Attached are lists of award-recipients from the four
categories over the span from 1917 to 2020. A Bibliography
of all works dealing with the Pulitzer Prize history,
published between 1917 and 2021, concludes the book.

Heinz-Dietrich Fischer, EdD, PhD, is
Professor Emeritus at the Ruhr-University of Bochum,